
Nurse Aide Training Program 
 
 
1. What types of training programs are approved in the State of Georgia? 
2. What general guidelines are required for Approved Nurse Aide Training Programs? 
3. Are there any special requirements for programs conducted by a nursing home facility? 
4. What is the required content to be taught in a State Approved Nurse Aide Training 
Program? 
5. What are the requirements for testing once a State Approved Nurse Aide Training 
Program is successfully completed? 
6. What are the requirements for instructors who teach in State Approved Nurse Aide 
Training Programs? 
7. Once a Nurse Aide Training Program is approved, are there any additional 
requirements? 
8. Where do I call to report allegations of fraud and abuse or misappropriation of funds? 
9. Where may I obtain further information related to certification, eligibility, training, 
train-the-trainer, or other questions? 
10. How can a Temporary Nurse Aide (TNA) due to the COVID waiver obtain CNA 
certification on the Georgia Registry? 
 
 
 
1. What type of training programs are approved in the State of Georgia? 
 
Approved Nurse Aide Training Programs are conducted in High Schools, Technical 
Schools, Colleges, Nursing Homes, Acute Facilities, Hospitals, Hospice and Private Post- 
Secondary Schools. 
 
2. What general guidelines are required for Approved Nurse Aide Training 
Programs? 
 
Each program must be a minimum of 85 hours in length. This includes 
classroom/laboratory plus a minimum of 24 hours of clinical experience in a nursing 
home. 
 
The Nurse Aide Training Program (NATP) Manual can be accessed via the website at 
www.mmis.georgia.gov, click on the Nurse Aide/Medication Aide tab. The NATP 
Manual is updated quarterly. 
  
 
3. Are there any special requirements for programs conducted by a nursing home 
facility? 

Yes. The training of nurse aide students by a long-term care facility must be completed 
and certification obtained within four months (120 days) from the time the training was 
commenced. 

Also, long term care facilities cannot charge a student nurse aide for any costs incurred 
during the training period, e.g. tuition, books, etc. Training cannot be conducted, nor can 
any other nurse aide training program permit clinical training if the facility is on ban. The 
term "ban" as applied to a facility indicates survey sanctions which may have included 
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substandard care violation(s), as well as being assessed a civil money penalty of five 
thousand dollars ($5,000) or more. (Other sanctions may be included as well). 

4. What is the required content to be taught in a State Approved Nurse Aide 
Training Program? 
 
The Federal Regulations (42CFR483.152) for Nurse Aide Training, established by the 
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) and State guidelines require the 
following content to be taught in a Nurse Aide Training Program: 
 
At least a total of 16 hours of training in the following six areas prior to any direct 
contact with a resident: 

• Communication and interpersonal skills (to include stress management)      
• Infection control  
• Safety/emergency/FBAO/Body Mechanics  
• Promoting residents’ independence 
• Respecting residents’ rights 
• Legal/ethical behavior and scope of practice  
                                                                                     

Basic Nursing Skills as follows: 
• Taking/recording vital signs and vital sign parameters 
• Measuring and recording height and weight 
• Caring for the residents’ environment 
• Recognizing abnormal changes in body function and the importance of reporting 

such changes to a supervisor.  Some examples of abnormal changes are: 
• Shortness of breath 

• Rapid respiration 
• Fever  
• Coughs 
• Chills 
• Pains in chest 
• Blue color to lips 
• Pain in abdomen 
• Nausea 
• Vomiting 
• Drowsiness 
• Excessive thirst 
• Sweating 
• Pus 
• Blood or sediment in urine 
• Difficulty urinating 
• Frequent urination in small amounts 
• Pain or burning on urination 
• Urine has dark color or strong odor 
• Behavioral change 
• Talks or communicates less 
• Physical appearance/mental health changes 
• Participated less in activities or refused to attend 
• Eating less 



• Drinking less 
• Weight change 
• Appears tired, weak, confused or drowsy 
• Change in skin color or condition 
• Requires more assistance with dressing, toileting, transfers 
• Recognizing and reporting paint to supervisor and 
• Caring for a resident when death is imminent and post mortem care 

Personal Care Skills, including but not limited to, the following: 
• Bathing (to include observation for pressure ulcers) 
• Grooming, including mouth care  
• Dressing 
• Toileting 
• Assisting with eating and hydration 
• Proper feeding techniques 
• Skin-care including observation for pressure ulcers and skin tears 
• Transfers, positioning and turning (to include observation for pressure ulcers 

Mental Health and Social Service Needs as follows: 
• Modifying aide’s behavior in response to resident’s behavior including depression 
• Awareness of development tasks associated with the aging process 
• How to respond to resident behavior including depression  
• Allowing residents to make personal choices, providing and reinforcing other 

behavior consistent with the resident’s dignity 
• Utilizing resident’s family as a source of emotional support 
• Emotional and mental health needs of the residents 
• Spiritual and cultural needs of the residents  

Care of Cognitively Impaired Residents as follows: 
• Techniques for addressing the unique needs and behaviors of individuals with 

dementia (Alzheimer’s and others) 
• Communicating with cognitively impaired residents 
• Understanding the behavior of cognitively impaired residents 
• Appropriate responses to the behavior of cognitively impaired residents  
• Methods of reducing the effects of cognitive impairments 
• Spiritual and cultural health 

Basic Restorative Services – The nurse aide should be able to demonstrate skills 
which incorporate principles of restorative nursing, including but not limited to: 

• Training the resident in self-care according to the resident’s abilities 
• Ambulation with/without a gait belt  
• The use of assistive devices in transferring, ambulation, eating and dressing 
• Maintenance of range of motion 
• Proper turning and positioning in bed and chair 
• Bowel and bladder training  
• Care and use of prosthetic/orthotic devices and eyeglasses 

Residents Rights – The nurse aide should be able to demonstrate behavior which 
maintains residents’ right, including but not limited to: 

• Providing privacy and maintenance of confidentiality 
• Promoting the residents’ right to make personal choices to accommodate their 

needs 
• Giving assistance in resolving grievances and disputes (to include the role of the 

ombudsman)  



• Providing needed assistance in getting to and participating in resident and family 
groups and other activities 

• Maintaining care and security of resident’s personal possessions 
• Providing care which maintains the resident free from abuse, mistreatment and 

neglect and reporting any instances of such treatment to appropriate facility staff 
• Avoiding the need for restraints in accordance with current professional standard 
Reference: Federal Register/Vol.56, No. 187, Subpart D, Sec. 483.152, (b), (1-7) 
State of Georgia Nurse Aide Training Manual 
 

5.  What are the requirements for testing once a State Approved Nurse Aide Training 
Program is successfully completed? 
 
The candidate must apply to take the Written/oral and Skills Competency Examination 
within one (1) year after successful completion of the nurse aide course by submitting a 
testing application to the testing vendor. Information regarding the state competency 
examination can be located at www.credentia.com, click on Test Takers/Georgia or by 
calling the registry at (678) 527-3010 or (800) 414-4358. If the candidate does not take 
the Written/oral and Skills Competency Examination within one (1) year of successfully 
completing the State Approved Nurse Aide Training Program Course, then the candidate 
must re-take the nurse aide training course again and take the state written and skills 
competency examination. 
 
Once the Written/oral and Skills Competency Examination is successfully passed, the 
nurse aide’s name will be placed on the Certified Nurse Aide Registry within 30 days.  
 
 
6. What are the requirements for instructors who teach in State Approved Nurse 
Aide Training Programs? 
 
Each approved training program requires a Program Coordinator and Instructor (s). These 
individuals must be Georgia licensed nurses. Requirements and responsibilities of these 
individuals can be obtained from Alliant Health Solutions, and are included in the 
application for approval of a State approved Nurse Aide Training Program (NATP) form 
or by accessing the NATP manual via the website at www.mmis.georgia.gov, click on the 
Nurse Aide/Medication Aide tab. 
 
One aspect for Program Coordinator or Instructor approval requires that the GA licensed 
nurse attend a Train-the-Trainer Workshop. The workshop covers the required Federal 
and State Regulations for Certified Nurse Aide training and competency evaluation, as 
well as providing knowledge about the principles of adult learning and education. The 
workshop registration form and calendar are located via the website, 
www.mmis.georgia.gov, click the Nurse Aide/Medication Aide tab and click Train-the-
Trainer Application under the Nurse Aide Training section. 
 
 
7. Once a Nurse Aide Training Program is approved, are there any additional 
requirements? 
 
Yes. Each program participates in a yearly on-site by a Registered Nurse. A review of 
training record files is conducted at this time to ensure that Federal and State Regulations 
for conducting a training program are maintained in accordance with the Omnibus 

http://www.credentia.com/
http://www.ghp.ga.gov/
http://www.ghp.ga.gov/


Budget Reconciliation Act  of 1987 (OBRA). This federal legislation outlines the 
requirements for mandated nurse aide training programs. The Code of Federal 
Regulations pertaining to nurse aide training and the nurse aide registry is listed in 
42CFR483.150-483.158. 
 
Programs are required to apply for re-approval of their Nurse Aide Training 
Programs (NATPs) every two (2) years. An application for re-approval of a Nurse Aide 
Training Program is located on the Georgia Web portal (www.mmis.georgia.gov. All 
changes made prior to every two (2) year re-approval must be submitted in writing within 
ten days of the change and must be approved prior to implementation. All changes will be 
review within thirty (30) days of receipt by the NATP Review Nurse. 
 
8.  Where do I call to report allegations of fraud and abuse or misappropriation of 
funds? 
If you wish to speak with staff and register a complaint against a nursing home, personal 
care home or hospital, please contact the Department of Community Service, HealthCare 
Facility Regulation Division at (404) 657-5726 or (404) 657-5728 or toll free at (800) 
878-6442 or submit complaint via email to hfrdcomplaintintake@dch.ga.gov. 

If you wish to register a complaint against a home health agency please contact the 
Department of Community Service, HealthCare Facility Regulation Division at (404) 
657-5727 or toll free at (800) 326-0291 or submit complaint via email to 
hfrdcomplaintintake@dch.ga.gov.  

9.  Where may I obtain further information related to certification, eligibility, 
training, train-the-trainer, or other questions? 
 
To obtain further information go to www.mmis.georgia.gov, click on the Nurse 
Aide/Medication Aide Tab or please call (678) 527-3010 (local) or (800) 414-4358. 
 
 
10. How can a Temporary Nurse Aide (TNA) due to the COVID waiver obtain CNA 
certification on the Georgia Registry? 
 
Temporary Nurse Aides may work in a nursing home or assisted living after June 7, 
2022, the end of the COVID-19 Emergency Declaration Blanket 1135 Waivers, as long 
as the Temporary Nurse Aide is actively seeking certification to become a Certified 
Nurse Aide by enrolling in a state approved Certified Nurse Aide Training program to be 
completed within the next four (4) months (Temporary Nurse Aides may work in a 
facility after June 7, 2022, the end of the COVID-19 Emergency Declaration Blanket 
1135 Waivers, as long as the Temporary Nurse Aide is actively seeking certification to 
become a Certified Nurse Aide by enrolling in a Certified Nurse Aide Training program 
to be completed within the next four (4) months per the Code of Federal Regulations 
42CFR483.35. The process for Temporary Nurse Aides to become a Certified Nurse 
Aide ends October 6, 2022.  
 
The TNA must complete a state approved nurse aide training program and pass the 
written and skills competency test within 1 year of completing the state approved nurse 
aide training program. The TNA will have 3 attempts to pass the state written and skills 
competency test within 1 year of completing the state approved nurse aide training 
program. 
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